The Home Team Blog

Around Atlanta News and Views

Fitness trend: The CrossFit Craze

By Lisa Milko

Maybe you’ve seen the new Reebok commercial.  Maybe you’ve overheard a neighbor bragging on how many pull ups she did this morning. Either way, there is no escaping CrossFit craze (even Celebrity Fitness trainer, Bob Harper is on board!). Devotees of this workout say they are addicted to the intensity and variety of the exercises.

An 800-meter run is just the warm up. Then a rigorous routine of kettle bell swings, wall balls and ‘burpees’ alternating with runs in between for three sets. That’s the beauty of CrossFit — the high intensity. It’s what people are afraid of but that’s really what people come to love. This is a no-frills gym with no ellipticals and no air-conditioning. Once the workout’s over the coaches post the scores on the blog so you can check your progress and keep track of personal record workouts.

I’m a devotee – it’s been a year, and I try not to miss a WOD (workout of the day). I like the challenges. I like that I can feel it from my head to my toes. Every part of my body gets a workout and it’s always different I never get bored.

If you’re interested, join me at CrossFit Decatur one morning, I’m there at 6am, five days a week (along with real estate star, Meghan Parham)!

www.crossfitdecatur.com

2 comments on “Fitness trend: The CrossFit Craze

  1. Jennifer
    January 21, 2012

    I just watched my Thursday night shows and can’t believe I saw the CrossFit ads on “real” TV – we are soooooooooooo ahead of the curve!

  2. Meghan
    January 21, 2012

    I feel it in every muscle in my body! And it feels GOOD!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 20, 2012 by in Trends & Tips.
